* Same records on the same page in DSP
* Same records on a different page in DSP potentially using the same view
* Same records on a different page in DSP using a different view of the same table
By default, the DSP does not lock records. In a case when multiple users are trying to edit the same record, both will be able to edit and the changes from the user with the latest save are applied. For locking to happen on any page, the reserved fields LockedOn and LockedBy must be added to the page.
After LockedOn and LockedBy are added to a page, when a user edits a record, the Edit icon is replaced by a Lock image.
NOTE: In some cases, the user must refresh the page to see the Lock image. However, while the record is locked, no other users can edit it.
Another user cannot edit the record until
- The user who is editing the record saves the changes or cancels the changes.
- The time set for the Record Lock Timeout has passed. By default, the value is 90 seconds. The Record Lock Timeout is set on the Timeouts tab of the System Administration’s Parameters page (Admin > Configuration > Parameters).
You can increase the amount of time for the Timeout, but the downside is that when a user edits a record and closes their browser without saving, then the lock remains until the timeout period is reached.
If LockedBy and LockedOn are added at the table level - it does not matter what page or view based on the table is being used: While a record is being edited, it is locked. For example, a record will be locked if it is being edited, even if another user is attempting to edit the record on a different page based on a different view.
NOTE: The Lock icon displays for different user IDs. If a user is working on the same record in multiple browser tabs, the icon does not display.
Please sign in to leave a comment.